Springfield Township was established on March 2, 1836 by the Legislature of the State of Michigan. State laws authorize townships to perform a wide variety of functions. Townships are required to perform assessment administration, tax collection and elections administration. Townships may choose to perform numerous governmental functions, including enacting and enforcing ordinances, planning and zoning, fire and police protection, cemeteries, parks and recreation facilities and programs, and many more.

There are two types of townships in Michigan—general law and charter. Charter Township is a classification created by the Michigan Legislature in Public Act 359 of 1947 to provide additional powers and streamline administration for governing a growing community. A primary motivation for townships to adopt the charter form is to provide greater protection against annexation by a city. As of 2011, 138 Michigan townships were charter townships (source: Michigan Townships Association).

As a Charter Township, Springfield is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of seven elected officials - a supervisor, clerk and treasurer, as well as four trustees. The Board of Trustees holds regular public meetings on the second Thursday of each month, and additional meetings when necessary. Notices of special meetings or public hearings are posted on the Public Notices page.

Administration of Springfield Charter Township functions is also aided by a Planning Commission, Zoning Board of Appeals, Park Commission and Library Board.

Michigan Municipal Guide